Home again

11 Feb

It seems like yesterday and forever ago at the same time. Five months to the day, give or take time difference math it’s too hard to do on a Saturday, about 230 of my closest friends and I celebrated the end of our amazing MBA experience. There were speeches and toasts, music and dancing, hugging and kissing, and quite a few tears by the end of the night. Oh, and pizza. At 4 a.m. But that’s a story for another post.

And then we scattered to all the corners of the world, with business plans, job offers, interviews, hopes, ideas, and no shortage of memories – helped along by a LOT of Facebook photos.

And now we are home again – whatever the definition of home is. For me, it’s not the place I called home before the MBA, it’s a whole new city – Calgary. But somehow in the last few weeks, it’s sort of crept up on me and finally become home.

Downtown Calgary

It’s a combination of things. Like how I finally know my way around enough to know when the cab driver is taking the “long way” to my house. The fact that I’ve found a great neighbourhood restaurant, decent pizza, a library and a grocery store all within 3 blocks of my house. Hosting my first grown-up dinner party in my new apartment with a few good friends, and lots of wine. And how I caught myself walking around in the sunshine yesterday, watching a few snow flurries come down as people rushed by on lunchtime errands and realized hey, I kinda like this town. Whatever the reason, I’m officially ready to consider myself at home. Hello Calgary, pleased to meet you.

2 Responses to “Home again”

  1. Michael Rudder February 11, 2012 at 6:52 pm #

    Well my wife always calls me an Albertan, so I’m assuming I’m qualified to say Welcome!
    Very Nice,
    Have a great stay!

  2. Leah L February 28, 2012 at 6:03 pm #

    Love Michael’s thoughts. I echo the “have a nice stay” but please don’t make it permanent! There are lots of other great cities to call home…

Leave a Reply

